Modified G-Shock 5600s

gshock 5600I shall now shame my children. I’ve quietly made some youtube videos in which I review bluetooth headsets and digital watches. Yep, I’m that big of a geek. Today I go public with my inner geekdom by sharing modifications to the venerable Casio G-Shock DW-5600E.

The imperfections with that model, for me, are:

  1. The recessed adjust button is too hard to push.
  2. The watch is too bulky to fit under the cuff of a long sleeved shirt.

I modified the watches’s bezels in order to address these imperfections. I give props to the badass blog Watch Space as inspiration.

Now run and hide, children. Here comes the video.

8 comments

  1. Hi,
    The silicon band you want has a deployment fitting, not a buckle and it lies flat on the wrist, so will fit under your shirt cuff no problem – see my watchspace.wordpress website for the images – under August 6th Post G-Shock Deployment.
    I like your removal of part of the G-Shock shroud to access that silly Adjust button – looks like it works just fine – good job!

    1. Watch Space is an awesome blog! I will definitely check out that band!

  2. Nice video! I received a 5600E as a gift. I like Casio and own several of their slimmer watches. This is essentially what I was looking for – modifications for the watch! I’ve geeked out and made modifications to watches before. Removing the rubber bumper should be easy and not permanent, so that’s great.

    FYI I believe you embedded your playlist rather than the video of interest. I had to skip ahead one video to find it.

    1. Thanks. I’ll double check the link and edit. Thanks!

    2. PS: I switched to this band and, as watchspace mentioned above, it helps with the shirtsleeves and looks good. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001ACTRME/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

      1. Thank you! I was just following up on watchspace and found some details. I think I’ll try a few combinations of watch band and rubber shroud on/off, see what works best.

        Video looks right now too.

  3. Thank you! I was just following up on watchspace and found some details. I think I’ll try a few combinations of watch band and rubber shroud on/off, see what works best.

    Video looks right now too.

  4. Solution #1. Open up and hack the w-800 to add the CDT feature. You can find the instructions on how to do this via google/youtube/watchuseek. w800 module has the CDT installed but it is disabled by Casio for this model.

    Soution #2. Cut notches in a thinner nylon or rubber band for the 5600. I use a 24 mm two piece nylon band (Maratec style rather than Nato style) which is quite low profile. And I add back the bezel cover with the adjust button cut out. Bezel cover does not add much thickness and also helps cover up any rough edges from the notch cuts.

Leave a Reply

